43 Comments
deletedNov 5, 2022Liked by Irina Slav
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Cleaning out stuff collected over years gives you a special sort of satisfaction. And, I guess, it helps put you in holiday mood but it might be just me. Winter holidays are the best.

Expand full comment
deletedNov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

I sincerely hope you, as a country, manage to avoid blackouts. We don't normally think about all the other things electricity enables, besides lights and heat -- water pumps is one of these things and it's essential.

Expand full comment

Here in South America the winters are mild, with rare days of extreme cold. Almost no heating is used.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like the perfect place for my husband and a couple of friends who really dislike winter. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Coastal Orange County, CA doesn’t have much of a winter. We wear layers during the day for cool mornings and evenings, short-sleeves during daylight hours. If we need to turn on the heat it’s usually for a very short period of time.

I’ve lived in Huntington Beach for over 20 years and the temperature has never dropped below freezing.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

I live in Central Virginia in the USA, and we find ourselves on the dividing-line between rain and snow in more weather systems than I can remember.

Otherwise, we do enjoy four complete seasons that our neighbors to the south don't, but we're also spared the brunt of the snow that our neighbors to the north experience.

This weekend we're winterizing our summer place on the Chesapeake Bay, where temperatures are supposed to reach the mid-70's(F)!

I'm hoping to be able to sit in my beach chair on a white-sand beach and enjoy beverages with friends, just one more time.

Expand full comment
author

One more example that there's always a tradeoff -- if you get four distinct, beautiful seasons, you get to have the hot summer and the cold winter. Not that I'm complaining, of course. Enjoy your drink!

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

I live in Toronto and we can have cold winters. I invested in a Generac just in case the power goes off.

Expand full comment

I live on the coast of Maine, USA. It's cold here October - April. We have a small, well-insulated home. Wood heat is our primary heat source. We have a wood stove and 4 cords of wood stacked outside. We also have hot water baseboard heat with an oil-fired boiler, which is our source of hot water as well. We rarely use the boiler for heat, but when temperatures drop below freezing, the oil heat generally kicks on in early morning. We also have electric heat available (but rarely used) in two rooms and some portable electric heaters. Hot water is currently our biggest concern. If we run out of oil, we can still heat the house with wood, but we have no easy way to to make hot water (other than boiling on the stove). We've been considering either switching to an electric hot water heater or installing solar...

Expand full comment

Why aren't you using propane instead of oil and a propane hot water heater?

Expand full comment

Well, because an oil-fired boiler is what came with the house when we bought it. Do you feel propane is a better bet than oil here in the US?

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Germany here. House heat from wood stove and gas heater for radiators. I have gas water heater on demand. Heats water when flowing. Since Putler has made gas an uncertain and expensive proposition I switched to a small electric water boiler in the Kitchen and will add another electric boiler (80 liters) to supplement the gas water heater for the bath. Electricity supplemented by house and carport solar 3 KW plus 1 KW which can supply the house and charge the Bluetti 3KW solar generator with two 3KW batteries for storage. A 3Kw propane generator on standby for cloudy days if electric grid fails. Cost savings and small payment for generated and sold electricity will help offset costs, but that would take twenty years at current rates. I did it for security and lights and heat in case gas and or electricity are not available.

Expand full comment
author

I think you can start teaching courses in energy self-sufficiency, Greg!

Expand full comment
author

Electric hot water heaters are the standard here for places with no central heating/hot water. We've been very happy with ours, which is 20+ years old. I'm talking about a big cylindrical boiler thing, not the sort you attach to the shower/faucet pipes.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Texas never gets too cold - EXCEPT - once in a while we get a deep freeze like the one in Feb 2021. We were admonished for being "unprepared" and of course millions of dollars have been poured into the "winterization" effort since then. I did my part - I bought lightweight horse blankets for my mares last week [they haven't bolted, Irina!]. I don't use them unless it gets well below freezing because Texan horses love cold weather and hate the heat!

Expand full comment
Nov 5, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Likewise. I'm in Central Texas (Austin).

I'm going to trim some trees this weekend. Their branches are still well off the roof, but they were touching the roof when covered in ice in 2021. Gives me a different criteria for "too close to the roof".

I wear shorts and T-shirts year round. But then, if I ever got a tattoo it would read "Keep refrigerated."

I've been thinking about installing a natural gas backup generator. My house is piped with NG, so when the electricity goes out, I still have NG. But it's not in the budget this year.

As long as Texas keeps expanding wind energy our electrical reliability will decrease.

Expand full comment
author

Very happy to hear that, Terri! Give them a pat from me. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

I bought 4 tonnes of wood, normally I buy 1 as and when I need it (twice per year).

And I started adjusting to having a colder temperature at night, normally 20.5, but now 19.5 (I'd go lower but I have young children to keep warm).

Also my children are in our bedroom at night, charlie and the chocolate factory style. Not for heat reasons really but I like to plead poverty where I can.

Expand full comment
author

Well, I hear it's good to keep the temperature in the bedroom cooler rather than hotter for a good sleep, so you're doing the right thing. The poverty argument could be a strong and convincing one. :)

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022·edited Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

I'm in Calgary, the ground is covered in snow and it is plus 3 C today. The Sunday high is expected to be -12 C, Monday -16 C. Since we have all hell for a basement here (Kipling quote) we burn gas till mid April.

I should have changed my tires two weeks ago. That is my chore for Saturday.

Stay warm

Expand full comment
author
Nov 5, 2022·edited Nov 5, 2022Author

You know, ever since I saw a picture of your former Premier Notley with frost on her eyelashes I have wanted to visit Alberta. I doubt I ever will but I do love the northern winter. It doesn't joke around, when it hits and hits, and it stays. Stay warm! (Love the quote)

Expand full comment

Here in Calgary, Alberta, I make sure the sprinklers are blown out (or they'll freeze and explode in Spring), change filters in the furnace, make sure the winter tires are on (essential in Calgary) and get out the winter clothes.

We've already been at -11c overnight.

That, and routinely give thanks for oil and gas folks that make sure the natgas gets to our house so that the furnace keeps things warm. Electric heat pumps and electric heat here is not a popular thing just yet.

Expand full comment
author

Do you think they could ever become a popular thing, heat pumps? Our AC in Sofia tended to give up at -1 and start coughing every time it was foggy, and heat pumps are a version of an AC, are they not?

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Live in mid-west! (Indiana/Illinois border) I cannot imagine life without heating or electricity here in Winter. Another concern is food in refrigerators! If we lose power for several days we will have to move to southern part of the United States or Mexico just to survive. I hope I answered your question.

Expand full comment
author

Let's hope you don't lose power this winter!

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Western Oregon winter — lots of rain, occasional short duration snow in the valleys, but heavy in the mountains. On our rural property we use wood burning stove, and backup generator & hot water heater that runs on propane. Primary heat source is heat pump with electric backup.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

I live in south Louisiana in the USA so the winter isn’t too bad down here. Just to illustrate how atypical it is to get super cold, occasionally we’ll have a “hard freeze” warning, which is generally when temperatures get in the 20s (Fahrenheit). We aren’t used to long freezes so some extra winterization is needed if it gets that cold.

As for heating, I am in one of the heaviest natural gas areas in the country with tons of industry around that relies on it. If Louisiana and Texas run out of natural gas, it’s because the entire country has. We’ll do fine this winter, albeit with slightly elevated bills for the natural gas.

Expand full comment
author

"If Louisiana and Texas run out of natural gas, it’s because the entire country has."

Let's hope this doesn't happy any time soon.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Phoenix, Arizona is in the middle of the Sonoran Desert. Winters here mostly mean heavier traffic as "snowbirds" migrate here for the winter from colder states to hike, golf, and spend. I can pretty much wear shorts and T-shirts except for a few chilly days when it gets into the 40s and 50s (4–10 C). The other big aspect is the rain: almost 40% of our annual rainfall occurs during the winter months.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Context: annual rainfall of 7 in (178 mm)

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like a pleasant place to spend the winter. I love rain but don't love snow that much.

Expand full comment
Nov 4, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

Wint3ers in Arkansas are an on and off thing. Sometimes it can be frigid for a month or two or warm and breezy. Our home is a well-insulated wood and brick construction. We heat the home with a 94% natural gas unit and water is heated with the same.

We keep the home at 66 or 67 in winter.

Expand full comment

It’s colder than a well diggers butt, but...

Ancestral Shore

Sequestered in Sheboygan

on the shores of oceanic

Lake Michigan

for twenty years

Within one mile of where

I overlook the great inland sea

landed my Great, Great Grandfather Charles

in 1850

Alone,  barely sixteen,

he braved the Atlantic passage

the Saint Lawrence seaway

to precede me here

I treasure that thought

pioneer Heins

on American soil

my neighbor

Steve Heins

Expand full comment

We live in Dunedin. Florida not NZ. Winters are mild here, I don’t recall a hard freeze in 30+ years. The population of Pinellas county goes fro 800k to 1.1m or so for our “season.” I wonder where we get to retire and leave our left turn signal on for 3 months a year... We need generators in the summer when storms like Ian can wipe out people who had no business building in flood zones and get washed away. Collier county, home to Naples has no land higher than 12 feet. Cat 5 storm surge can be 25. Do the math. We’re at 35...

Expand full comment
author

I think that in Florida what you lack in winter you make up for during hurricane season, if you'll excuse the dark humour.

Expand full comment

On the High Plains of Texas, elevation 3202 ft., the north wind blasting down from Amarillo can make for some really cold days below freezing Nov - Feb.

We just had a wood burning fireplace insert installed in our old inefficient brick fireplace. It’s basically a wood burning stove designed to fit in the fireplace opening. It is very efficient and give us the option of having heat if we have another 4 day winter blast blackout like Texas had in February 2021.

Now we have the option of central heat with our natgas furnace (which needs electricity to circulate the air) or wood for heat during a blackout.

So far we have been enjoying watching the fire (through its glass door) and sipping coffee on the cold mornings.

Expand full comment
author

Nothing like a live fire for that wonderful feeling the Danes call hygge and it cannot be translated with a single word.

Expand full comment
Nov 8, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

New purchase.... weighted blanket. Wonderful invention.

Expand full comment
author

I had to google that but it does sound like a wonderful invention. I've always liked my cover in bed heavier and luckily, my husband's late grandmother provided with a traditional, hand-stitched duvet that must weight several kilos but, oh, does it keep warm in the winter!

Expand full comment
Nov 8, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

After several power outrages, I no longer have faith in the electrical utility company to ensure power is

100% dependable. And if there is an outage due to a storm, it can take three-four days for power to be restored. Pipes will freeze. Better to have a back-up plan like a nat gas fired generator.

Expand full comment
author

Yep. Can't trust utilities.

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 9, 2022Liked by Irina Slav

I leave Canada and go to South Florida. I walk, work out, scuba dive and race cars....while also keeping up with your daily insights.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like a great, hassle-free solution.

Expand full comment