42 Comments
founding
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

Hi Irina - subject matter and cutting edge style are great. I do find the frequency a little too regular, but I appreciate 2022 set a bar for volume and speed of the comical, absurd developments in the European and global energy sector.

I’d be interested occasionally in a deeper dive article - bi-monthly maybe?

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, this is exactly the sort of feedback I was looking for. Already planning some changes.

Expand full comment

Irina, I can say that in my 40+ year career in the industry I have seen few people with as many skills as you have. Speed, focus, ability to elaborate. You are fantastic. Do not stop!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, Armando, this means a lot!

Expand full comment

sometimes, your interviews are too cosy and long for me. I would prefer short summaries instead.

I would agree that the posts come too often. With all the other blogs, I have a hard time clearing my mail - and I confess that I will sometimes delete your mail in that effort!

Your posts do make me think - that is what I value

Expand full comment
author

I could add a summary of the main points Big Media-style at the beginning of a post, perhaps. I'll think about it. Frequency, too. Thanks!

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

Hi Irina - I appreciate your wit and irony. The inanity of the energy debate makes it fair game and you are spot on in your provocative essays. Keep up the good work!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I did say no compliments but you're so kind. :)

Expand full comment
founding

Irina, your content, humor, and world thought leadership are fantastic. I would have very little in constructive suggestions. However, I do have one key point.

Your opinions are too valuable for you to burn out. Do not cut back anything, unless it means a better quality of life. If you are happy, that is what matters. If you can make money, be happy and be the best funny industry thought leader without burn out roll out as much as you want.

Expand full comment
author

Burnout risk is part of the deal when you spend your time wading through bad policies and cult-like brainwashing, but we've got weekends and holidays for that. But I did feel readers may be getting a bit overwhelmed by the amount that's produced on this Substack and I was right.

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

My only critique(s) would be:

- Deeper dives into how the current energy absurdity affects the average EU citizen.

-The inclusion of topical photos, as the axiom of them "being worth a thousand words" is quite true.

-Setting a maximum word limit to some of the longer blog entries, as you may lose some of the reader's attention in this attention-challenged world that we reside in.

-And finally, more, More, MORE of what you do! Your wit, gift for prose and unique insights give we people here in the US an unparalleled peek behind the EU curtain.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much! I'll think about these, definitely.

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

play devils advocate to the core thesis that all our leaders are either stupid or evil or both. What are they getting right? What are we sceptics missing? How does it tie to perhaps a big trade opportunity?

Expand full comment
author

I have tried and tried to find one thing that politicians have done right and regular citizens haven't borne the brunt of and I keep failing. This is perhaps the most depressing part of what I do here. But I'll keep trying, thanks for this.

As for trade opportunities, I try to be careful about not dispensing trading advice because I don't trade. But I think the risks I talk about such as a copper shortage or growth in coal use could indirectly give trader-minded people some ideas to ponder.

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

I’d suggest the Belgian energy policy (I think it was started in 2002) where households below a minimum income level pay an government set low rate for electricity - when their income rises above the threshold they are given 12 months to prepare for going back on the market rate. I believe the whole process links automatically to the tax declarations.

Flip side of that is the Belgian Government shutting nuclear power stations....😬

Expand full comment
author

That's probably more out of necessity to keep people out of bankruptcy than wisdom. Like Germany's floating LNG terminals. And yeah, there's the nuclear stations issue in both Belgium and Germany...

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

I am not in the energy profession but I am acutely interested in the subject. By nature, I don't like government telling me what products I can buy and how best to live my life. I would like to see you offer your ideas for solutions aimed at persuading ESG leaders pushers of zero carbon by 2050 to recognize the futility of it all. They seem hell bent on this path despite reality. Reality is tearing down a wind farm to reopen a coal mine. Reality is burning forests and relabeling wood as renewable energy rather than a heavy carbon polluter. I consider you an expert on energy issues. What are your ideas for how best to combine energy sources?

Expand full comment

It ain't futile for them. It is a government guaranteed Gravy Train. Carbon Trading/Net Zero is just a giant scam for big investment firms, i.e. BlackRock, and $billionaires to make huge profits without even have to sweat. It's an insider business and its regulated by the arbitrary ESG metric that the insiders decide upon (i.e. Tesla doesn't make the ESG top 500 but Exxon makes #8). Then they can make investments in scams like supposed (but not actually) land preserves and get easy return on investment.

If they REALLY wanted Net Zero or low Carbon they would be pushing for a rapid shift to Nuclear power (as France did within 20yrs circa 1970s). Instead they are doing the opposite. That tells you all you need to know. This has nothing to do with climate. It's just a money grubbing, wealth transfer scam for ultra-rich grifters.

Expand full comment

Wood is the product of a chemical reaction powered by solar radiation using atmospheric CO2 as a feedstock. By burning the wood you give back the necessary CO2 so that the sun can produce new fuel, a cycle that can be repeated until the sun burns out. Future generations can worry about saving the sun.

Expand full comment

The land area is insufficient to meat even a small fraction of our energy needs with wood. And it takes 50yrs or more to grow the trees, only minutes to burn the wood. Wood is a non-solution. Humanity only progressed when they replaced wood energy with coal.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds like a major challenge. I like it and will think about it. Thank you!

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

How about the climate science debate, covering all sides, science & the political spectrum.

Back to oil & gas. Where are current fields and potentially new fields.

Expand full comment
author

Great ideas, thank you!

Expand full comment

That's easy. Cover the Politics of Energy. That's is by far and away the most significant issue in determining our Energy Future. Energy & Corruption are like hand & glove. Big money = Big Bribery & Big Bullshit, i.e. the Wind & Solar scam. Very few energy experts want to venture into that quagmire but that's what its all about nowadays, unfortunately.

Expand full comment

I believe you. But how are they able to get such a huge following worldwide that is akin to religious zealotry? I also believe in nuclear. These same people, however, keep up the fear campaign citing radiation disasters. More education is needed for upcoming generations.

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

I would prefer deeper dives with somewhat less frequency - but no complaints here, please keep it up.

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

Hi Irina.

I admire your interest in improving. I hope this is on point and not too harsh.

The free content is entertaining because you see the world so clearly and ironically.

I’ve never been a paid subscriber because I’ve never gotten anything that wasn’t available elsewhere as a close observer of the energy markets. It may be that I am not your target audience yet I have a suspicion that you may have the goods even for a very knowledgeable observer. Perhaps it’s there behind the paywall but I’d prefer to see it first.

I’m reminded of how doomberg did it - a year of their best stuff then charging when people were hooked, or others who have the occasional insightful or important column distributed free.

In looking at the other comments, perhaps slowing down the pace and digging deeper into causes, motivations, inconsistencies, or consequences of our short sighted policies with an eye towards affecting some positive change (to change policy, or prepare, or to profit, or something) so it isn’t just entertainment about the “drunken crew on the titanic”....

What do you want out of this? Its probably not just poking fun at the morons. But, what?

Expand full comment
author

I think that's what the free trials are for -- to see what's behind the paywall and if you like it stay. If not -- free to leave. I actually did something similar to what Doomberg did but on a much smaller scale, of course. I do try to maintain some consistent degree of quality so I don't have best or worst stuff, not in my mind, at least. Thanks for this feedback!

What I want out of this is an excellent question and I have a very simple answer. I want to try and make more people start questioning the narratives they are being fed by their governments because I know for a fact these narratives are dangerous and involve scenarios that will affect us all in a very negative way. The only way I see of doing this is exposing the narratives.

I like the suggestion of adding a positive note. I might try to do that, thank you!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

Irina,

I follow closely your work, it’s great I find it informative and humorous.

Agree, bias’s and style are difficult to change even if you would wanted to.

Can you do more in reaching people with the opposite bias?im becoming more conscious that I’ve created a safe bubble in which I hear, read, follow and exchange opinions with all similarly minded people. Perhaps you can share some counter opinions and make it easier for us to understand those with very strange (absurd) priorities. Or not...some people only learn the hard way. Common sense will prevail in the long run (what I tell myself to appease my nightmares)

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, Ben. We all have our bubbles. I think they're a form of self-preservation. I do present opposing opinions, for instance, what the EU thinks will happen vs what the laws of physics can possibly allow to happen. :) It's always a good idea to challenge opinions but, honestly, what we often get are not opinions but parroting the narrative with zero doubt. Whenever I find a voice that combines rationality with logic I'll try and bring it here.

Expand full comment

With respect, sometimes it feels like you lose sight of the forest as you focus on the trees.

You focus on the details, but you also don't really go all the way in explaining why the agenda is being pursued really, and by whom, and why we are not allowed to talk about it openly.

Maybe it is because you fear being labeled a conspiracy theorist. Maybe you fear to even entertain such tin-foil thoughts yourself.

Oh, and you're a good writer!

Expand full comment
author

I don't really care about being branded a conspiracy theorist but a lot of people are writing about the bigger goals of the agenda and, I'm afraid, while their observations and arguments do make sense, there is little in the way of concrete evidence, probably because there can hardly be any evidence, logically speaking. It would betray the goal, after all. I am partial to evidence, so that's one stop for me. But I do think about it and what the end game could reasonably be. Perhaps, if more of you are interested, I could share some of these thoughts. Thanks for the suggestion and for the compliment!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

There were a couple that were too long, but I'm busy enough, as I am a Principal Software Engineer at a startup, and I am new to the energy industry as I inherited property in Texas where I receive Royalty payment from BP. While Joe Biden says the oil companies are gouging America, I see it as every time Joe opens his mouth, I lose money. My Royalty payment are about the same as pre COVID, and December was worse as it all went to pay a Federal Tax. I also own mineral rights in Montana, some 324 acres that the government won't allow mining. I read your problems with power and water/plumbing. I heard/read the Greenies are saying Electric is cheap, and I was wondering what planet they live on? I live in Portland, Oregon where if there is 10% chance of rain, it really means it will rain 10% of the day! We have a good sized river, The Columbia that has 2 large damns, yet to heat my modest house was $500/month. I converted to Natural Gas last year, my electric bill is now $200/month and then $100/month for gas. I did loose power 2 years ago, which resulted in pipes breaking and a high water bill. While I'm at it, a friend of mine owns an EV. She could only get it to charge to 70%, which is roughly 40 miles. While the state of Oregon is easily 350 miles by 350 miles, about 90 miles to the coast and maybe 60 miles to Mt Hood. She took her car into the shop as she has 70K miles on it, and the warranty expires at 100K, they told her they didn't have equipment to verify her claim, and they didn't know when they could test it, and recommended she doesn't drive it. The worse part is trying to find charging stations when she needs one. I mean, if I saw a gas station was full of cars, I would probably wait, can you image what a mess there will be trying to charge all of these EVs, let alone if everyone charges at once. Have a great weekend, don't listen to me, write what you feel is important. Will

Expand full comment
author

I'll add some length variety, that's for sure. Thanks! I'm sure a lot of people can share similar energy experiences and I'm sure many ask the same questions that you've asked. The more people do it, the better. Eventually we might get to some accountability.

Interesting EV story, I might start collecting these. Thanks again for your feedback!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

I very much enjoy some posts. The reference links add to the altitude. Regardless of whether I or anyone else likes or dislikes someone's voice, we are living in an era where it becomes crucial for certain messages to be purveyed. This is everyone's duty as we hang on the cliff of even losing that human right.

Expand full comment
author

That's what I believe needs to be done, too. Thanks for your support.

Expand full comment

I don't want to come off as a sycophant but I love your posts ! I read them all - I don't always respond but I read them. I also enjoy your work on other sites. Just keep up the good work as long as you want to

Expand full comment
author

Okay, I banned praise but it feels nice. :) Thank you, Patrick!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Irina Slav

I love your posts on oil and gas and do believe they play a very important roll in energy transition. I am also a proponent of Nuclear Energy and am reading all I can to get familiar with new technologies in that industry. I see that Oliver Stone has a new documentry called Nuclear Now and is presenting it at WEF Davos 2023. Maybe the Greenies will start to think critically??? Can you talk about your thoughts on Nuclear?

Expand full comment
author

To be perfectly honest I don't feel on such firm ground with nuclear because I've only written about it occasionally over the year, unlike oil and gas. But I could try and think about an angle that I could tackle with relation to nuclear, certainly. Thank you for the suggestion!

Expand full comment

A decade ago, the Edison Electric Institute published "Disruptive Challenges: Financial Implications and Strategic Responses to a Changing Retail Electric Electric Business "

Irina Slav knows the hydrocarbon market and, at present, is their advocate.

My concern is simple. In 2009 with a 2015 update, the IEA (International Energy Association) published an article written by Dr. Richard Perez and his brother, Marc Perez. It summarized proven global energy resources.

In 2015, total proven global Hydrocarbon reserves, including coal, peat, natural gas, and crude, was 1,385 Terawatt years.

In 2020, total global energy consumption was 25~ish TWy, 80% of which or approx 20 TWy came from hydrocarbons..

1,385 / 20 = 69.75 or sixty nine years and nine months supply, with no growth in consumption.

It is time the people, in every democracy, took over. The businesses are leaving too many gaps.

Expand full comment
author

Dear all, thank you once again for the excellent suggestions and the constructive criticism, both have been very much appreciated. After much pondering, looking at my subscriber growth rates (pretty healthy if I say so myself), and my own Substack-reading habits, I've come to the following conclusions:

- I write more often than some but much less often than others (a brilliant insight, I know). I expected more complaints about this, to be honest, and since they have not been forthcoming, I'll stick with about 8 paid and four free articles a month but without making it a hard target, although I do operate in a target-rich environment as one of you noted.

- I won't put caps on length. I realise the times we live in put often great pressure on our attention span but I strongly believe the ability to read longer texts is important for our health, if nothing else. This, however, does not mean I will write long posts for the sake of long posts. Length usually happens organically -- if the subject requires more words, then more words it shall get. If it can be covered in 800 words, then that's what it will get.

Thank you again for taking the time to participate in the discussion!

Expand full comment